ETH Zurich
DARCH

IEA Institute of Architecture and Design
Studio Arno Brandlhuber
Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5, HIL G57
CH-8093 Zurich

T +41 (0) 44 633 1111
E team.brandlhuber@arch.ethz.ch

STATEMENT

Architecture is always thought of and communicated through images, drawings and models.
Still, it is more than an object to be mediated on, described, drawn and displayed.

Television as a technology de-center the view from the object, destabilizing our usual ways of understanding the built.
The question becomes: how can time-based media, bring not only the spatial but also the temporal dimension of architecture into the discussion?

Television, as a popular media, allows for an argument to be made and for an architect(ure) to occupy a political position.
Thus, we consider TV as our container in addressing disciplinary questions beyond an object-related discourse in architecture.

Together we think, design, build (up) and run a TV station+.

Architecting after Politics
The Property Drama
Legislating Architecture

ONGOING

WEEK 14
Sun, 16.12.2018 Optional Crits with Christopher Roth, HIL G57 13:00
Mon, 17.12.2018 Optional Crits with Christopher Roth, HIL G57 10:00
Tue, 18.12.2018 Optional Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 19.12.2018 Finals with Ariana Berndl, Lietje Bauwens, Wouter de Raeve and Jack Self, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 13
Tue, 11.12.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 12.12.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 12
Mon, 03.12.2018 Theorie + Praxis with Christian Posthofen, HIL G57, 13:00
Tue, 04.12.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 05.12.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 11
Mon, 26.11.2018 Theorie + Praxis with Christian Posthofen, HIL G57, 13:00
Tue, 27.11.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 28.11.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 10
Tue, 20.11.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 21.11.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 9
Tue, 13.11.2018 Workshop with Ariana Berndl on Character Design, HIL G57, 13:00
Wed, 14.11.2018 Crits with Ariana Berndl, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 8
Mon, 05.11.2018 Theorie + Praxis with Christian Posthofen, HIL G57, 13:00
Tue, 06.11.2018 Field Trep to Lech (Austria)
Wed. 07.11.2018 Field Trep to Lech (Austria)

WEEK 7
Tue, 30.10.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 31.10.2018 Crits with s+, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 6
Mon, 22.10.2018 Seminar Week
Fri, 26.10.2018 Seminar Week

WEEK 5
Mon, 15.10.2018 Theorie + Praxis with Christian Posthofen, HIL G57, 13:00
Tue, 16.10.2018 TV night with Diann Bauer, HIL G57, 17:00
Wed, 17.10.2018 Crits with and Christian von Borries, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 4
Tue, 09.10.2018 TV night with Christian von Borries, HIL G57, 17:00 / Inaugural Lecture Arno Brandlhuber, (tba), 18:30
Wed, 10.10.2018 Crits with and Christian von Borries, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 3
Tue, 02.10.2018 TV night with Manuel Buerger, HIL G57, 17:00 / IEA Lecture Arno Brandlhuber and Jan de Vylder, (tba), 18:00
Wed, 03.10.2018 Crits with and Manuel Buerger, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 2
Mon, 24.09.2018 Theorie + Praxis with Christian Posthofen, HIL G57, 13:00
Tue, 25.09.2018 TV night with Christopher Roth, HIL G57, 17:00
Wed, 26.09.2018 Crits with Christopher Roth, HIL G57, 10:00

WEEK 1
Tue, 18.09.2018 Studio Introduction, HIL G57, 10:00
Wed, 19.09.2018 Studio Introduction, HIL G57, 10:00

TEACHING WINTER 18/19

Real Virtuality (EP)
Prof. Arno Brandlhuber, Christopher Roth, Christian Posthofen
Assistants: Severin Baerenbold, Ariana Berndl, Manuel Buerger, Dominique Frey, Michaela Friedberg, Olaf Grawert
every Tuesday and Wednesday, 10:00, HIL G.57 / HIL G.61
For further information please contact Olaf Grawert

Theorie + Praxis (SE)
Arno Brandlhuber & Christian Posthofen
Monday, 24.09./15.10./5.11./26.11./10.12., 13:00-19:00, HIL G57
For further information please contact Christian Posthofen

Access + Tools (SE)
Severin Baerenbold & Dominique Frey
Tuesday, 24.09./02.10./09.10./16.10./30.10./plus optional dates, 10:00-17:00, HIL G57
For further information please contact Severin Baerenbold

Master Thesis
We are looking forward to receiving applications for free master thesis.
For organizational reasons, and to ensure support to mutual satisfaction, applications are contingent on a personal meeting.
For further information please contact Olaf Grawert

Our current free diploma students are: Laura Bruder, Zarah Fahrni & Ursina Zioerjen, Lukas Graf & Selina Sigg

TEAM

Prof. Arno Brandlhuber
Severin Baerenbold
Dominique Frey
Michaela Friedberg
Olaf Grawert
Christian Posthofen
Christopher Roth

Ariana Berndl
Manuel Buerger
Carla Peer

Manuel Bokanyi
Clara Richard
Meghan Rolvien
Joana Tschopp
Julian Waeckerlin









































































IMPRINT

Herausgeber im Sinne der BOT der ETH Zurich: Prof. Arno Brandlhuber
ETH Zurich, D-ARCH, Institute for Architecture and Design, Chair of Architecture and Design
Website & Editor: Olaf Grawert